FDCP to hold Film Ambassadors’ Night

The Film Development Council of the Philippines will pay tribute to Filipino films, filmmakers and actors who made waves internationally, in the second FDCP Film Ambassadors’ Night to be held at the Sampaguita Gardens in Quezon City on February 9.

FDCP Chair and CEO Liza Diño said that the event is “the best way to start the year. It’s a special night which celebrates the triumphs of our Filipino filmmakers, especially those who brought honor to our country by winning awards various international film festivals last 2017. This is our small way of showing our appreciation for their passion and hard work.”


Among those to be cited are the documentary films Sunday Beauty Queen by Baby Ruth Villarama and Two Way Jesus by Jet Leyco, television documentaries Warmer by Atom Araullo, Front Row‘s Bata sa Bintana produced by Joseph Conrad Rubio, Reel Time‘s Maling Akala produced by Jayson Bernard Santos, and Reporter’s Notebook‘s Pasan-Pasang Pangarap produced by Ian Simbulan. The last three are all GMA Network programs.

In addition, FDCP will also recognize short films, namely Jared Joven’s and Kaj Palanca’s Contestant #4, TJ Collanto’s Diliman, Carlo Francisco Manatad’s Fatima Marie Torres and the Invasion of Space Shuttle Pinas 25 and Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month, Raymund Ribay Gutierrez’s Imago, JP Habac’s Maria, Richard Legaspi’s Pipo, Phil Giordano’s Supot, and Joella Cabalu’s and Milena Salazar’s Do I Have Boobs Now?

Also to be given honors during the event are the full length films 1st Sem by Allan Michael Ibañez and Dexter Paglinawan Hemedez, 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten by Petersen Vargas, Across the Crescent Moon by Baby Nebrida, Ang Babaeng Humayo (The Woman Who Left) by Lav Diaz, Ang Araw Sa Likod Mo by Dominic Nuesa, Area and Laut by Louie Ignacio, Baboy Halas by Bagane Fiola, Baka Bukas by Samantha Lee, Birdshot by Mikhail Red, Dagsin (Gravity) by Atom Magadia, Huramentado (Oath to Die) by Noriel Jarito, Ignacio de Loyola by Paolo Dy, Imbisibol by Lawrence Fajardo, Paglipay by Zig Dulay, Pamilya Ordinaryo by Eduardo Roy, Jr., Patay Na Si Hesus by Victor Kaiba Villanueva, Pitong Kabang Palay by Maricel Cabrera-Cariaga, Sikreto sa Dilim by Mike Magat and Ramon Roxas, Singing in Graveyards by Bradley Liew, Tale of the Lost Boys by Joselito Altarejos and Women of the Weeping River by Sheron Dayoc.

FDCP will also hand out awards to filmmakers Brillante Mendoza, Diaz, Ignacio, Dayoc, Red, Gutierrez, Fritz Silorio, Sari and Kiri Dalena, as well as actors Tommy Abuel, Sandy Andolong, Mary Joy Apostol, Joem Bascon, Dina Bonnevie, Iza Calzado, Ana Capri, Gabby Concepcion, Ricky Davao, Ai Ai Delas Alas, Matteo Guidicelli, Hasmin Killip, Christopher de Leon, Lotlot de Leon, Angel Locsin, Anna Luna, Ronwaldo Martin, Leon Miguel, Carlos Morales, Arnold Reyes, Charo Santos-Concio and Laila Ulao.

Apart from those to be honored for their global achievements under the creative, technical and performance categories, FDCP will also award the A-listers and recipients of the Camera Obscura, the highest Artistic Excellence Award given by the council to outstanding filmmakers from last year. Previous Camera Obscura awardees include directors Mendoza and Diaz, and actors Jaclyn Jose, Allen Dizon and Teri Malvar.

FDCP hopes that the event will also be an opportunity for filmmakers and industry movers of different backgrounds to come together to strengthen collaboration among the creative industries.

Kathy Kenny


Digital marketer. Events host. Content writer. Pursuer of dreams. Music, movie, and book lover. Collector of snowglobes, ref magnets, pens, mugs, Care Bears, notebooks, and makeup. Wanderlust. Sapiosexual. Yawyan Advocate.